How I Became A Devops Engineer Within Three Months

How I Became A Devops Engineer Within Three Months

My name is Olasupo Grace, a computer engineering student at the Federal University of Technology, Akure. I'm an average female Nigerian in my early 20s that has an interest in things that have to do with technology.

About four months ago, the Academic Staff Union of Universities(ASUU) in Nigeria went on strike due to the non-compliance of the Federal government to their needs. At first, I was a little bit happy because I was free from school activities but if I'm being honest, staying at home doing nothing was very boring and time-wasting. But I don't have a choice since I couldn't afford a private university's tuition so I have to wait till ASUU call off the strike.

However, three months ago, I got an opportunity to learn DevOps at %[darey.io], a tech firm that trains people on DevOps practices through Project-Based-Learning. Although I used to be a trainee at a tech lab where I learn digital electronics, I haven't heard of DevOps until I got the opportunity from %[darey.io]. I'm so sure that if I was told a year ago that I will be a DevOps engineer by now, I wouldn't have believed but it was true and it happened.

To cut the long story short, I started doing the projects one after the other despite the fact that I don't have any knowledge of them before. The tech firm made learning easy for me and my fellow learners by giving us access to courses and videos that really helped us in implementing the projects. Currently, I've been able to complete twenty-three(23) projects on my own and I can start applying for DevOps jobs confidently. Though the journey was not easy because I had a lot of bugs and blockers while doing the projects, I was able to solve them all with the help of the technical team of the firm.

Have you been hearing of DevOps and do you think it is difficult to learn within a short period of time? Why not visit %[darey.io] and take a bold step towards changing your life for good